Konstantin Vassiliev: Sonata

16 pp., $9.95, Presser Order number 494-02560 (PWYS-66)

To view first line incipits click here.

TCover art by Matanya Ophee. Used by permission.he composer says: The Sonata for guitar is dedicated to the Ukrainian guitarist Roman Viazovskiy who contributed a great deal to bringing it to completion. The work expresses the difficult contradictions in the internal world of the person, full of contrasting feelings and emotions, its irresolute misdirection, its sadness and joy, anxiety and tranquility. In correlation to these ideas, the contemplation of the classical three movement structure of the sonata form, where a great variety of shades are all related to one paramount idea, creates a unity of form.

kostantine_vassiliev.jpg (6157 bytes)Konstantin Vassiliev was born in Novoaltaisk, Russia, in 1970. He studied the guitar at the Novosibirsk Conservatory with Arkadii Burkhanov and composition with Sergei Tossin. On graduating from the Conservatory, he moved to Germany where he continued his guitar studies with Reinbert Evers at the Hochschule für Musik Detmold, Münster, and composition with Dr. Georg Haidu. In 1991 Vassiliev organized a chamber ensemble made of a combination of traditional European and Russian folk instruments. He now writes for this ensemble many original compositions and arrangements of folk music. The melodic and harmonic attributes of Russian music have an important meaning in his compositions.

Copyright © 2003 by Editions Orphée, Inc. All Rights Reserved.



Editions Orphée, Inc.,
1240 Clubview Blvd. N.
Columbus, OH 43235-1226

All our sales are processed by our distributor, the Theodore Presser Company.
In case of any problems with delivery of your orders, please get in touch with them directly:
588 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406-2800, USA.
PHONE: 610-592-1222 Ext.163 or 1-800-854-6764 Ext.163 (Toll Free)
EMAIL: sales@presser.com

Last Modified: Saturday, November 19, 2011 12:04 PM