Vladislav Uspensky: Musical Sketches on Pushkin's Eugene Onegin
for guitar and chamber ensmble.

(Clarinet in B, percussion and string quintet).

Score and parts. 20+8+4+4+4+4+4+4+2 pp., $29.95, Presser Order number 494-02367 (EICM-14)

oneg.jpgThe Musical Sketches on Pushkin’s Eugene Onegin for guitar and chamber ensemble is a twentieth century commentary on this famous nineteenth century novel in verse, imbued in the distinctive mood of the societal and cultural atmosphere that inspired it. Composed in 1990 the work was first performed in Leningrad on May 18, 1991, by Ilia Permiakov with the Leningrad State Chamber Orchestra directed by Ravil Martynov. It is published in celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of this protagonist of world literature, Alexander Sergeevich Pushkin.

Uspensky.jpgVladislav Uspensky was born in the city of Omsk (Siberia) in 1937. His parents were musicians, and his mother and grandmother, both pianists, were his first teachers. In 1955, he was accepted at the Moscow Musical college as a student in composition; he continued his graduate studies at the Leningrad Conservatory (now the St. Petersburg Conservatory) where he later became one of the two students selected by Dmitrii Shostakovich for his post-graduate class in composition. In 1965 Uspensky joined the faculty of the St. Petersburg Conservatory, where he was a Professor of Composition. Vladislav Uspensky died in 2004.

Copyright © 2005 by Editions Orphée, Inc. All Rights Reserved.



Editions Orphée, Inc.,
1240 Clubview Blvd. N.
Columbus, OH 43235-1226

All our sales are processed by our distributor, the Theodore Presser Company.
In case of any problems with delivery of your orders, please get in touch with them directly:
588 North Gulph Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406-2800, USA.
PHONE: 610-592-1222 Ext.163 or 1-800-854-6764 Ext.163 (Toll Free)
EMAIL: sales@presser.com
Last Modified: Saturday, November 19, 2011 10:54 AM